Amarok 1.4 on Ubuntu 9.10 Karmic Koala

Unfortunately the default package repositories for Ubuntu 9.10 Karmic Koala only provide access to packages for Amarok 2. While Amarok 2 of course is a great media player, I actually like Amarok 1.4 much better. Luckily Bogdan Butnaru gives you the chance to download Amarok 1.4 through his very own deb-repository.

So I tried to add Bogdan’s repository to my sources list, but I could not verify Bogdan’s public key to actually access his packages. Since I did not get that to work no matter what I tried, I had to work around that. Here is what I did:

  1. Download all debs for the correct architecture (in my case i386) from http://ppa.launchpad.net/bogdanb/amarok14/ubuntu/pool/main/a/amarok
  2. Open a terminal session and install each package with sudo dpkg -i, e.g. sudo dpkg -i amarok14-common_1.4.10-0ubuntu3~ppa4_all.deb. This will install the packages even if the dependencies are not satisfied.
  3. Satisfy all dependencies and configure the newly installed packages by issuing sudo apt-get install -f

E voila: We have a working installation of Amarok 1.4. Nice. And thank you Mr Butnaru 🙂

Tags: , , , , , ,

11 Responses to “Amarok 1.4 on Ubuntu 9.10 Karmic Koala”

  1. alpha Says:

    i kinda cared about it not being a verified file bom the firewall indicated nothing so i think it’s ok, thanks very much, they should put this version in the repository (karmic koala). thanx very much!

  2. nullrend Says:

    Perhaps you’re just being nice, but I found Amarok 2 to be a lagoon of rotten pig dung, like these: http://www.rollingstone.com/politics/story/12840743/porks_dirty_secret_the_nations_top_hog_producer_is_also_one_of_americas_worst_polluters

    Going to try this out and report back on how the scripts work out.

  3. Andrew Says:

    This is just what I needed! The only thing is that no matter what order I tried to install the packages in, nothing would work.

    I got the same key error you did, but was able to install from the repo anyway.

  4. Grundlefleck Says:

    I found a page with the command to add the public key, but it didn’t work for me. The following command:

    sudo apt-key adv –keyserver keyserver.ubuntu.com –recv-keys AE74AE63

    From here seems to do the trick.

  5. Grundlefleck Says:

    Ack. Spoke to soon. Ignore my last post.

    • develshack Says:

      Yes, I was trying to do that too at first, since this seemed to be the most straightforward way to install the packages. But as you wrote, somehow it will not work. Don’t ask me why that is, though 🙂

  6. Nate Says:

    Thank you very much!

    FYI: For me it only worked when I removed Amarok 2.2 (of course) AND then used “sudo apt-get autoremove” to delete everything that was left from 2.2.

  7. Danil Says:

    I’ve got a problem installing it like that on a fresh install of Kubuntu Karmic (9.10)
    The program was installed and runs and even the visualisation works, but there’s no sound
    opening the same files in e.g. Dragon player works fine
    starting amarok from konsole doesn’t give out any specific errors

    does anyone have a solution to this?

  8. Manuel Says:

    I tried the bogdanb/amarok14 PPA Repo to install Amarok 1.4 and it worked!
    Here is the post.
    http://www.techdrivein.com/2010/04/want-amarok-14-back-in-ubuntu-here-is.html

    • develshack Says:

      Hi Manuel. That’s a great tutorial you’re linking too. Back when I wrote this blog I could not add the repository to apt for some reason. With Lucid the standard way worked great.

Leave a Reply

